School Curriculum

The Curriculum

The 1998 Education Act brought in a compulsory National Curriculum. In primary schools, the subjects that all pupils must study are art and design, design and technology, English, geography, history, information and communication technology, mathematics, music, physical education and science. Religious education must also be provided.

The School Curriculum is more than just the subjects we teach. We legally have to teach the National Curriculum. Click here for information about the new National Curriculum for 2014.

Phonics Teaching


At Coads Green Primary School, our Phonics teaching scheme is Read, Write Inc. This systematic phonics scheme supports our reading and writing teaching in Foundation, Year 1 and into Year 2. Read Write Inc Phonics teaches children to read accurately and fluently with good comprehension. They learn to form each letter, spell correctly, and compose their ideas step-by-step.

Every June,  Year 1 children will be taking the statutory phonics screening check. The check takes place in a  2-week window. The check is very similar to tasks the children already complete during phonics lessons. The purpose of the check is to provide evidence of children’s decoding and blending skills, not to test their vocabulary.

What does the Phonics Screening Check look like?

The checks consist of 40 words and non-words that your child will be asked to read one-on-one with the class teacher. Non-words (or made up or nonsense words) are a collection of letters that will follow phonics rules your child has been taught, but don’t mean anything – your child will need to read these with the correct sounds to show that they understand the phonics rules behind them.

The 40 words and non-words are divided into two sections – one with simple word structures of three or four letters, and one with more complex word structures of five or six letters. The teacher administering the check with your child will give them a few practice words to read first – including some non-words – so they understand more about what they have to do. Each of the non-words is presented with a picture of a monster / alien, as if the word were their name (and so your child doesn't think the word is a mistake because it doesn't make sense!).

Scoring and communicating the results.

Your child will be scored against a national standard.



Beyond those subjects, we offer the chance for all children to take part in Forest School, learning outdoors and a chance to develop skills through exciting topics.  In addition, there is a wide range of after school activities on offer for children of all ages. These clubs offer the children extra opportunities in sport, cooking, art etc. beyond what they normally cover in school time.
We feel that offering an integrated curriculum in this ways teaches the links between subject areas and makes learning more effective.

Our Reception Class follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum.

Religious education

RE is taught in all classes following the Local Education Authority agreed syllabus. At KS1 the main religions studied are Christianity and Hinduism.

At KS2 the religions studied are Christianity and Judaism, Hinduism, Sikhism, Islam and Cornish Christianity. Parents have the right to withdraw pupils from these sessions.